Rotary Club of Burnside’s ‘Leadership in Conservation’ and ‘Volunteer of the Parks’ Awards - Prior winners list


Selected by the Glen Osmond Rotary Club

1984-Ian May, Leigh Creek (Far North)

1985-Tom Flynn, Canunda, South End (Lower South East)

1986-John White, Strathalbyn (Fleurieu District)

1987-Herman Bakker, Salt Creek (Coorong)

1988-Peter Martinsen, Cleland Park (Lofty Region)

1989-Ron Bert, Belair Park (Sturt District)

1990-Terry Gregory, Belair Park (Sturt District)

1991-Peter Macrow, Stirling ( Norwood Wildlife Offices)

1992-Stephen Brown, Tintinara (Mallee District)

1993-Mick Ayre, Innes National Park (Yorke District)

1994-Phillip Hollow, Coorong (awarded for work at Eyre District)

1995-Volker Scholz, Deep Creek (Fleurieu District)

1996-Michael Harper, Berri (Murraylands Region)

1997-Robert Gooch, ( Cleland Park)

1998- Lorraine Edmunds, Flinders Ranges National Park

1999-Steve Gilbert, Coorong National Park

2000-Richard de Groot, Lofty/Barossa District

2001-Brian Robins, Far West District

2002-Ian Falkenberg, Mid North District, Burra

2003- Sheridan Martin, Eyre District

2004-Alby Zepf, Ranger, Desert Parks, Outback Region

2005-Brett Dalzell, District Ranger, Far West, West Region

2006-Steve Bourne, Manager, Naracoorte Caves National Park

2007-Bryn Troath, Senior Ranger, Southern Lofty District, Belair

2008-Craig Nixon, District Ranger, Gawler Ranges National Park


2009-Phillip Ainsley, Germplasm Research Coordinator, Adelaide Botanic Garden

2010-Katrina Pobke, Threatened Species Recovery Officer, West Region

2011-Seiji Iwao, Senior Ranger, Fleurieu District

2012-Cristina Vicente, Volunteer Support Ranger, Northern and Yorke Region

2013-Jen Pitman, Senior Ranger, Southern Lofty District

2014-Steve Taylor, Senior Ranger, Northern Hills, Coast and Plains

2015-Dr Andrew Sharp, Landscape Programs Coordinator, Natual Resources Northern and Yorke

2016-Deb Furbank, Team Leader, Community, Yorke Peninsula, Northern and Yorke NRM



1988-Ev and Hugh Campbell, Friends of Old Govt. House

1989-Colin and Betty Byrne, Friends of Old Govt. House

1990-John Michell, Friends of Sturt Gorge

1991-Graham & Raelene Churchett, Friends of Black Hill and Morialta

1992-Vaughan Moldenhauer, Friends of Whyalla

1993-Kay and Michael Lockley, Friends of Fort Glanville

1994-Colin and Anne Malcolm, Friends of Onkaparinga

1995-Yvonne Steed, Friends of Mount George

1996-Jenny McDonald, Friends of Simpson Desert

1997-Prof. Harry and Margaret Wallace, Friends of Coorong and Christine and Jeff Jones, Friends of Ferries McDonald & Monarto/Monarto Fauna Complex

1998-The Sullivan Family, Friends of Cleland

1999-Clinton and Margaret Garrett, Friends of Whyalla Conservation Park

2000-Kevin Smith, Bookmark Supporters/Riverland Parks

2001-Peter and Gwen Martinsen, Friends of Innes National Park and Phil and Rosalie Brown, Campground Hosts

2002-Barney and Sally Williams, Friends of Southern Eyre Peninsula Parks

2003-Athol and Jan Jackson, Friends of the Flinders Ranges National Park

2004-John and Moira Samuel-White, Friends of Upper South East Parks

2005-Roy Caldwell, Friends of Anstey Hill Recreation Park

2006- Pam and Ron Tamblyn, Friends of Old Government House, and Friends of Belair

2007-Dr John Butler, Friends of Scott Creek Conservation Park

2008-Bev and Dean Overton, Friends of Cape Gantheaume Cons Park

2009-Trevor Westlake, Friends of Hallett Cove Cons Park

2010-Ruth Charlesworth, Friends of Para Wirra Recreation Park

2011-Alan and Lorraine Hancox, Friends of the Simpson Desert Parks

2012- Tom Hands, Friends of Scott Creek Conservation Park

2013-Leonie Hobbs, Friends of Para Wirra Recreation Park

2014-Andy McKinnon, Friends of Onkaparinga Park

2015-Peter Townsend, Friends of Cobbler Creek Recreation Pk

2016-James Ferguson, Friends of Butcher Gap Conservation Park, Natural Resources, South East